My “why”

May 20th, the last day of this fundraising campaign for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS), is approaching.  We are hosting a happy hour for LLS this Sunday at Mercado by Earl Giles with bartender’s featured specialty punch.  From May 1st – May 7th, local restaurants in the Twin Cities are uniting by providing a feature drink on their menu, with proceeds to be donated.  I still need to follow up with a great deal of contacts in order to gather more financial support for the campaign.  My phone is lighting up with work emails late into the night.  The washer’s spin cycle stopped working leaving my entire laundry load soaked in water.  Minneapolis is raining, and my cat just knocked all of her water all over the floor this afternoon.  Life moves so fast, and most of the time it seems like I am hanging on by a thread.

Why do I this?  Why do we do this?  What is it about this campaign that moves us to overcome our fear of rejection, to block out shyness when asking for money, and to open our heart and give?

14 years ago my aunt promised me that she would come to the U.S. and look after me when I come to the U.S.A.  Leukemia took her away.  Her promise was never fulfilled. That was the first time that I heard of this disease, and it took the one I loved.  Recently, 6 year old Sophia, a LLS Honored Heroes earned her angel wings after a 1 year battle with leukemia.  Yesterday, a friend told me how she’d also lost a friend to leukemia.  These stories are tragic, but I’m not telling them to sadden us all.  Instead, they should ignite in us a fire to fight back.  These people we love and lost have fought with everything they had, and that strength should power us to do more.  We need them to know that in the midst of the craziness of our daily life, the unexpected events of this world, they are not forgotten.  We have a purpose, we have a mission, a united mission: to bring hope in blood cancer treatment, to protect and provide for current patients and their families.

So, stand with me as we fight this battle along with my aunt, with Sophia and with many other heroes.  Help me spread the words and fund raise for this campaign.  #UnitedWeCure #JointheRevolution.

I’ll leave you with this quote: “I wondered why somebody didn’t do something more. Then, I realized I was that somebody.”

UnitedWeCure.Wordpress.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

