From East to West #UnitedWeCure

Ten weeks ago I embarked on this journey to fund raise for the Leukemia & Lymphoma society.  From the beginning, the campaign was about celebrating heroes: my aunt who must be partying up in heaven now with the result of our campaign, my brother Mike who fought bravely against Burkitt Lymphoma and won.  Because of heroes like them, we fight for a world without cancer. Ten weeks and an army of fighters later, we have raised $34,799 together.

Standing there at the gala event I was humbled by the people I loved who showed up to support the campaign.  The names of financial supporters that appeared on my campaign page reminded me how blessed I am.  During our campaign, more than 12 different restaurants united together for a 7-day journey to raise awareness and funds to find a cure for blood cancer.  More than 600 people were at the gala event bidding on our silent  and live auction items that were donated to our campaign.

There are no words that I can use to express how grateful I am to have friends who pushed me when I was discouraged, to have a church family who spend endless hours praying for me, to have families from both ends of the world to love and inspire me, to have colleagues and mentors from my company who said yes to this cause and believed in me.

So, cheers to a successful campaign. Cheers to the heroes who inspired this campaign. Let us celebrate the power of unity that brought us all together regardless of our race, our age, our immigration status in this country, our income level, or our genders.  #UnitedWeCure

 

Leave a Reply

